Home Contact Calendar News Staff
EL Commission Members
In This Section
EL Commission Members
EL Commission Members

Teachers, Principals, and District Leadership

Parent and Community Partners

State and National Experts

Ahmed Ali, Ph.D.
Executive Director of Heritage Academy, Minneapolis

James Burroughs
Executive Director, MPS Diversity & Equal Employment Opportunity

Lorraine Cruz
Principal, Richard Green Central Elementary School, 2013-2014

Sharon Cormany 
ESL Teacher, Edison High School (Nationally Board Certified)

LaTanya Daniels
Principal, Patrick Henry High School

Meredith Davis
Principal, Sanford Middle School, 2002-2011

Bernadeia Johnson, Ed.D.
Superintendent, Minneapolis Public Schools, 2010-2015

Ronald Salazar
Principal, Folwell Performing Arts

Halee Vang
Principal, Hmong International Academy

Ann Viveros
ESL Lead Teacher, Andersen United Community School

Lucilla Yira
Associate Superintendent, Minneapolis Public Schools

Siad Ali
Senior Constituent Advocate, Office of U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar

Roman Gonzalez
Community Health Worker, Sr. Health Care Homes

Marian Hassan
Author and Early Learning Specialist

Mohamed Mohamud
Executive Director, Somali American Parent Association 

Laura Svoboda
Assistant Director of Refugee Services, MN Council of Churches

Lori Helman, Ph.D.
University of Minnesota College of Education
Co-Director of the Minnesota Center for Reading Research

Virginia Pauline Rojas, Ed.D.
ASCD Language Education Specialist

Valeria Silva
Superintendent, St. Paul Public Schools

Anh Tran
Multilingual Learning Coordinator, Robbinsdale Public Schools

Gabriela Uro
Manager, ELL Policy & Research,
Council of Great City Schools